Hospitality Leaders Hospitality Leaders Menu 0
Google Translate
Hospitality Industry News

Winners of 2011 HOSPA announced at HOSPACE 2011

Profile Photo By: British Hospitality Association
November 29, 2011

Winners of 2011 HOSPA announced at HOSPACE 2011

Industry winners of 2011 HOSPA career scholarships

The winners of the 2011 ?Career Investment Development Scholarships? of HOSPA ? the new name for BAHA, the UK?s leading educational organisation for hospitality professionals involved in financial management, revenue management and IT ? were announced last week at HOSPA?s Annual Conference: HOSPACE 2011, held on Thursday 24 November at the Sofitel Hotel, London Heathrow at Terminal 5.

For the first time, the awards were sponsored by HOSPA?s strategic partner ? Texas- based Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP) and split into two categories. The first was for outstanding young hospitality industry employees, under 30 years of age, in finance, revenue management or IT; and the second was for UK University and College students who have excelled in their current full-time undergraduate hospitality-related studies. The former category winners were nominated for their awards by senior hospitality industry practitioners and the latter by hospitality course leaders.

All the winners won the opportunity to learn from, be noticed and publicly recognised at last week?s prestigious annual HOSPACE 2011 (formerly known as the BAHA Annual conference and IT Exhibition). In addition, they attended the HOSPACE 2011 Gala Dinner and will be profiled in HOSPA?s monthly magazine ?The Overview?.

Commenting on the scholarships, HOSPA Chief Executive Carl Weldon said: ?We are greatly indebted to HFTP and its Chief Executive Frank Wolfe for sponsoring the 2011 ?HOSPA Career Investment Development Scholarships?. The awards confirm HOSPA?s commitment to the future of the Industry, and those who are beginning to develop their careers in hospitality finance, revenue management and IT, as well as those about to enter the profession.?

Outstanding Young Employee Winners
Pictured left to right at HOSPACE 2011 are the HOSPA young employee winners with Frank Wolfe CAE Chief Executive Officer of awards sponsor HFTP (extreme left): Simone Hofer, Assistant Financial Controller, Red Carnation Hotels; Cherith Howells, Sales Executive at the Malmaison Hotel and the Hotel du Vin in Edinburgh; Lucy Holder, Revenue Manager, Ramada Encore Ipswich; Darren Wright, Regional Accounts Assistant, Rezidor Hotels UK; Laura McNally, Revenue Manager at The Coppid Beech Hotel, Bracknell, Berkshire; and HFTP Global President Lisa Funk.

The other winner in this category, not pictured, is Stephen Johns, Cluster Financial Controller at the Macdonald Compleat Angler at Marlow, Buckinghamshire and the Macdonald Windsor Hotel, Berkshire.

The nominators for this category were: Sarah Dovey, Vice President Finance, Red Carnation Hotels; Orli Schechter, People & Development Manager (North, Scotland and N.Ireland), Malmaison and Hotel du Vin Hotels; Diane McTague, General Manager, Ramada Encore Ipswich, Suffolk; Janine Robertson, Regional Financial Accountant, Rezidor Hotels UK; Andrew Oxley, General Manager, The Coppid Beech Hotel, Bracknell; and Barry Dawson, Hotels Finance Director at Macdonald Hotels & Resorts.

UK University and College Hospitality Student Winners
Pictured from left to right at HOSPACE 2011 are the HOSPA UK university and college student winners with HOSPA Chief Executive Carl Weldon (centre):? Cara McElroy, studying for BA (Hons) Hospitality Management at Bournemouth University; Sarah Kamensky, studying for MSc International Hotel & Tourism Management at Oxford Brookes University; Charlotte Wright, studying for BSc (Hons) International Hospitality Management at University of Surrey; and Marcelina Jesus, studying for BA Hospitality & Business Management at Westminster Kingsway College.

The other winner in this category, not pictured, is Daniela Mandt, studying for BA (Hons) Hospitality Management at The London School of Hospitality and Tourism, University of West London.

The nominators for this category were: Howard Field, Savoy Society Mentor; Cathy Burgess, Senior Lecturer in Accounting for the Hospitality Industry, Oxford Brookes University; Professor Peter Jones, School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, University of Surrey; Clare Mannall, Programme Manager for Higher Education in the School of Hospitality, Leisure & Tourism at Westminster Kingsway College; and Mia Touzin, Field Leader in Hospitality and Event Management at University of West London.

Source: BHA

Suggested news

all access

Get full access to the hospitality industry news.

Sign up now. It’s free
Or import your details from