Hospitality Leaders Hospitality Leaders Menu 0
Google Translate
Hospitality Industry News

Announcing the winner of the 5th Prix Meurice for contemporary art 2012/2013

Profile Photo By: H L
October 15, 2012

Announcing the winner of the 5th Prix Meurice for contemporary art 2012/2013

The fifth Meurice Prize for contemporary art has been awarded to Alexandre Singh, represented by Art: Concept Gallery in Paris.

True to its heritage and its enthusiasm for the art of its times, and for the fifth consecutive year, the first Parisian palace hotel (1835) has awarded a prize to help an emerging artist on the French scene to gain international exposure. The prize, which has an endowment of ?20,000, was jointly awarded on October 9th to Alexandre Singh for his project “The Humans” and to Art: Concept Gallery.

Judges have chosen Alexandre Singh amongst the 50 outstanding projects that were submitted for the prize. This year’s jury comprise prestigious members of the art scene including Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, Ambassador for the award, Montse Aguer, Director of the Centre for Dalinian Studies, Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc, Artist and Winner of the award in 2011/2012, Colette Barbier, Director of Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, Philippe Dagen, Writer and Professor at Universit? Paris I Panth?on-Sorbonne, Jennifer Flay, FIAC Director, Marta Gili, Director of Jeu de Paume, Henri Loyrette, President and Director of the Louvre Museum, Maryvonne Pinault, Collector, Jean de

Loisy, President of the Palais de Tokyo, and Franka Holtmann, General Manager of Le Meurice.

For this special 5th anniversary, Le Meurice created an outstanding and spectacular setting where a giant tree stood at the centre of the event to symbolise the origins of the prize; whilst Yannick Alleno concocted a three-starred cocktail to mark the occasion.

Personalities from the worlds of art, fashion, media, sport, showbusiness and cinema mingled throughout the evening, including Dolores Chaplin, Aure Atika, Amanda Lear, Ellen Von Unwerth, Caroline Barclay, Anne-Solenne Hatte, Simon Abkarian, Christophe Dechavanne, Nelson Monfort, Thierry Ardisson, Louis-Marie de Castelbajac, and Erick Zonca.

Guests enjoyed a preview of the exhibition of the eight finalists’ work, which will run until October 21st and be part of the VIP section at the FIAC contemporary art fair.

The creation of the Prix Meurice for contemporary art is part of Le Meurice’s resolutely forward-looking movement; because luxury at Le Meurice is none other than an expression of creativity.

Source: Dorchester Collection

Suggested news

all access

Get full access to the hospitality industry news.

Sign up now. It’s free
Or import your details from